Typewriters, Aliens, and Harriet the Spy

Beth Beck's Blog

I remember the first time I knew I wanted to be a journalist. I was five years old and my mother bought me a movie called Harriet the Spy. Harriet would spy on her neighbors and friends using various gadgets and spy gear that she carriharrietTheSpyed with her on a tool belt. Whenever something caught her eye, she would write about it in her journal. I began to follow in her footsteps shortly after watching the film for the first time. I recorded everything I saw and heard as I snuck around the house, crawling under tables, and listening in on my family’s conversations.

By the time I was eight years old, I considered myself to be a pro despite the fact that, for the most part, everyone I spied on knew I was spying on them. My father got the biggest kick out of my antics. He was…

View original post 827 more words

Leave a Reply

