Studying Abroad, Opening the Mind

alexhamilton56

A ten hour flight gives you a lot of time to think.  There’s something about soaring through the sky -as far above the clouds as they are from the ground- that gives you the proper perspective to reflect on where you’re going and where you’re coming from.  Before I left my home in America, every advisor and older student extolled the virtues of studying abroad to me.  If I had a penny for every time I was told the experience would “change my life,” I likely could’ve paid off the Greek national debt.  “Of course,” I thought, as I stared out my window. “Of course the experience will be eye-opening. I’m going to learn a lot about my heritage, and it’ll be a unique time to look back on for all my life.”  But despite that, I couldn’t yet fathom the deep personal change that my friends and mentors had…

View original post 547 more words

Leave a Reply

