Our Food System from an 11 year old…

mattie2016

As students we’ve all heard of Ted Talks. Heck, anyone with a passion for anything knows about Ted Talks. While I was searching the world of Ted I came across their TEDxNextGeneration series, which gives children and those younger a chance to voice their passion and put out their ideas. One specifically stuck out to me though.

Eleven year old Birke Baehr, a speaker in the Ashville edition, gave an incredibly insightful talk about our food system. Now anyone who knows me knows that I love food, and I don’t always make the healthiest choices but his speech resonated with me on a personal level. Baehr talked about the farmers growing the food that we SHOULD be eating.

8671479747_56044aff4b_zGrowing up in a farming community, the well being and appreciation of the farmer is very near and dear to my heart. I have seen family members work long, hard days to put…

View original post 156 more words

Leave a Reply

