Kevin Smith returns to what he does best with Clerks III

Joseph Siegel

Looking back, the first film to really get me interested in independent cinema was Kevin Smith’s 1994 cult classic Clerks, and I’ve been a fan of (some) of Kevin Smith’s work ever since. He was one of the first independent film makers to link his films in an independent universe (called the View Askewniverse, named after his production company, View Askew) that each feature his most recognizable characters, lovable stoners Jay & Silent Bob. The depth, range, and unique writing of his work fascinated me as I was really getting into film. Some of my all time favorites films are Dogma (a witty satire on organized religion) and Chasing Amy (Smith’s most full on dramatic work), but Clerks and Clerks II will always hold a special place in my heart. I discovered it at just the right time, as I was also clocking in and out of a mundane retail…

View original post 156 more words

Leave a Reply

